10th Annual The Way to Happiness JROTC Scholarship Competition

posted in: clinic news 1

Rio Grande Valley High School Students Win Top Awards

Harlingen Family Dentistry hosted its 10th annual values-based Scholarship Competition. Students were acknowledged and awarded for their community projects that incorporated The Way to Happiness precepts and JROTC Core Values.

Students are required to present a portfolio summation of results achieved in their implementing of “The Way To Happiness” precepts and the JROTC core Values. In addition, each student presents an oral and visual presentation to the judges with project documentation. Schools from across the Rio Grande Valley participated in the contest. The three winners will share $6,000 in scholarships when they register in an institution of higher learning of their choice.

Follow-up Award winners include: Daniel Mora, Edinburg North High School, LTC James Troia, Instructor, High School, CPT Raul, David Garate, Rio Hondo High School, , Col. Clifford Moriarity, Instructor, Ezelina Lopez, Harlingen High School, MSG Tony Gonzalez, Instructor, Diana Munoz, Weslaco High School, SFC Mario Gonzales, Instructor, Luisa Gomez, Weslaco High School, SFC Mario Gonzales, Instructor, Julyssa Balderas, Harlingen High School South, Major Pedro Gonzalez, Instructor, Kimberly Valdez, Harlingen High School South, Major Pedro Gonzalez, Instructor, Miguel Pedraza, Los Fresnos High School, Major David Arjona, Instructor, Jose A. Jimenez, San Benito High School, Captain Nels Swanson, Instructor, Daniel de la Cruz, Porter High School, SSG Marvin Williams, Instructor, Jose Cisneros, Porter High School,1st SGT Marvin Williams, Instructor.

The 2017 First Place Winner, $3,000.00 scholarship award: Ezelina Lopez, Harlingen High School, MSG Tony Gonzales, Instructor. Ezelina’s project was focused on child abuse. Statistics were given and the story of how Maggie’s House came to be. Ezelina organized her Harlingen High School JROTC cadets beautiful Maggie’s House to make it more presentable for abused victims.

The Second Place Winner, $2,000.00 scholarship award: David Garate, Rio Hondo High School, LTC Clifford Moriarty, Instructor, selected as his project the Rio Hondo blood Drive. It was the first time in five years a successful blood drive had been conducted. Around 84 pints of blood was collected which has the potential to save over 240 human beings. He applied the Air force JROTC Core Values of Integrity First, Service Before Self and Excellence in all That We Do. The Way to Happiness precepts Daniel applied are Take Care of yourself, Fulfill Your Obligations and Set a Good Example.

Third Place winner, Daniel de la Cruz, Porter High School, SFC Marvin Williams, Daniel de la Cruz won the $1,000.00 third place award for his Can Food Drive involving the Porter High School students and the JROTC students. They collected more than 200 food cans and water packs for those in need in the community.

The 2017 judges are LTG Ricardo S. Sanchez, Retired, CEO- Optech Enterprise Solutions, San Antonio, Lead Judge, 1SGT Muhammad Ali Cerda, Darrell Hester Juvenile Justice Center, Lisa Seiser, Editor Valley Morning Star, Derick Garcia, KVEO Reporter, Kathy Preddy, United Way of Northern Cameron County Resource Dev. Dir., Doyle Clark, Accountant & Rotarian and Susan Francis, DAR State Corresponding Secretary, Past Regent LT Barlow DAR Chapter, attorney.

Timekeeper, John Hollingsworth, Rotarian
Janie Solis, Tabulator, RGV Credit Union Manager
Portfolio judges: Judy Emsley, Retired Harlingen High School South Facilitator
Marsha Gramley, retired Rodriguez Middle School Principal
Competition Director, Gail Thomason


  1. […] the same time, he continued his community contributions by providing annual scholarships for deserving JROTC cadets in the Rio Grande Valley and for students seeking a career in […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *